NFL News

Ed Reed, Tony Gonzalez headline Pro Football Hall of Fame list of candidates

List of  candidates narrowed to 25, will be reduced to 15 on January 3 before selection is made on Super Bowl weekend

Safety Ed Reed, cornerback Champ Bailey and tight end Tony Gonzalez highlight a list of 25 finalists named by the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night. Reed, Bailey and Gonzalez each made the list of 25 in their first year of eligibility.

Former coach and player Tom Flores and linebacker Zach Thomas also each made the final 25 for the first time. The list of 25 will be reduced to 15 and announced on Jan. 3, 2019. The final 15 players and coaches will then be discussed on Feb. 2, with a maximum of five to be elected to the Hall of Fame.

Aside from the five possible to make it, the selectors will vote on contributors Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt and senior finalist Johnny Robinson.

Modern Day Finalists

S Steve Atwater

CB Champ Bailey

CB Ronde Barber

OT Tony Boselli

WR Isaac Bruce

S LeRoy Butler

Coach Don Coryell

G Alan Faneca

Coach Tom Flores

TE Tony Gonzalez

WR Tory Holt

G Steve Hutchinson

RB Edgerrin James

Coach Jimmy Johnson

CB Ty Law

S John Lynch

LB Clay Matthews

C Kevin Mawae

LB Karl Mecklenburg

LB Sam Mills

S Ed Reed

DL Richard Seymour

LB Zach Thomas

WR Hines Ward

S Darren Woodson

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *